Monday, June 18, 2012

Author Interview + Giveaway: Cicada by Belle Whittington (Blog Tour Stop)

Today I'm really happy to be welcoming the lovely Belle Whittington, author of the Young Adult science fiction novel Cicada on my blog again. You can read my review for her really well written story here or read a Christmas short story set in its world here. Also don't forget to check the end of this post for two very awesome giveaways.


This post is part of Cicada's blog tour,


Cicada is labeled as paranormal/sci-fi/mystery/romance. That’s a unique combination! Can you tell readers a bit more about the genre mash-up?

It is a unique combination, that’s for sure! But I think that’s what makes it so compelling and gives it a taste of authenticity. After all, in real life we are often faced with a combination of challenges, and so it is with the characters in Cicada. To begin with, I wanted readers to be able to step into the story … to feel compelled to enter the world in which Blair and her friends live. So there’s a bit of mystery, something to give the readers a longing for more. The paranormal/sci-fi part goes hand-in-hand. After all, there are aliens in Cicada. But this part of the combination does not overwhelm the story. It merely flavors it, sprinkling it with that bit of spice without chasing off readers. In regards to the paranormal part, I hope readers pick up on the hint that there’s something different about some of the characters … something not quite human. The romance part … well I’ll have to leave that for the readers to discover. I don’t want to give away too many spoilers. However, I will say that there is a bit of romance, a splash of sugar to the recipe to sweeten it a little. Voila! What’s left is a story to appease every taste!


What books have most influenced your life?

I’m not even sure I can answer this question, because I don’t have any one favorite! Of course I love Jane Austen! Who doesn’t? Getting past that, there are so many others! For instance, Suzanne Collins rocked my world with her Hunger Games trilogy! After I finished Mocking Jay, the characters stayed with me night and day until I picked the trilogy up and reread it!

Then there’s Beth Revis and her awesome Across the Universe series! I was completely engrossed with the first two books, and I cannot wait for the next one! Not only are her characters compelling, but the world she created aboard Godspeed is unique and fresh.

Likewise, Amy Kathleen Ryan’s Glow was enthralling. The twist in her story literally caused me to gasp out loud when I read it! I’m looking forward to reading the sequel to her novel!

It goes without saying that I love J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series! I still wish I could have gone to Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry!

As you can see, I could go on and on… so many terrific authors, so little time! And, just about with every book I read, I add another favorite author to my list! For instance, I’m reading Once by Anne Carey, so you can imagine that I’ll be adding it to my favorites soon!


What are you reading right now?

I’m currently reading Once by Anna Carey. It’s the sequel to Eve. I’m really enjoying it! I’d suggest anyone who likes dystopian books to give it a read … especially those readers who enjoyed Matched, Glow, and Hunger Games. Ms. Carey is a terrific storyteller.


What do you like to do when you are not writing?

My favorite thing to do when I’m not writing is promoting Cicada. I think the reason that it’s my favorite thing to do is that I’m meeting so many fabulous people along the way and have made so many new friends. First and foremost would be all those lovely book bloggers who have been so kind and have helped me promote my book! I adore each and every one of them! Plus, I’m getting to meet my readers, and that is an awesome experience! For every reader who contacts me, I’m reminded of why I write! For the pure love of it!


Is there anything in Cicada that readers may not pick up that you would like to point out?

I would like for readers to think about why the book is titled Cicada as they are reading the book. What do cicadas do when they come of age? They come out of their shells and transform into a different part of themselves so that they can survive the world into which they are entering.



Giveaway 1
This giveaway is international - there are 12 eBook copies of Cicada available for 12 lucky winners. Don't miss your chance to read this imaginative novel.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Giveaway 2
This giveaway is US only - Belle is giving away an electronic firefly in a jar in honor of the series' second novel Firefly. You can see a video of the jar here.

a Rafflecopter giveaway



1 comment:

  1. When I review books I totally look for orginality and the genre smashup between paranormal/scifi/mystery/romance deffidently sounds orginal. We also have something in common :) the same books influenced my life too!

    ReplyDelete

I read and love every single comment you leave, so thanks a lot for taking your time to let me know what you are thinking about this post! Feel free to leave a link to your blog, so I can check it out, too!
Carina

P.s.: This is a tag- and award-free blog. Thanks a lot for your consideration though!